Exciting: pillow covers made from our own fabric

Receiving fabrics printed with designs my husband and I made simply keeps being exciting! I love being able to choose exactly the colors I like and use them for the patterns we made, send it off to Spoonflower to then receive a package with the fabrics ready to be sewn into beautiful things!

gray-and-mustard-pillows

I keep being astounded how starting out with some sharpie or ink drawings leads to a repeat pattern printed on fabric and ready to sew with! Well, no, this does not magically happen, and for now I rely heavily on my husband to doing that “magic” part of converting a drawing into a repeat pattern. I have started to learn, but somehow got sidetracked by other wonderful things, like diy skincare and learning more about herbs, as obvious from my last couple of posts. And maybe, maybe the urgency to learn is not quite as high having someone in the house who does it so naturally and easily… ahem.

gray-and-mustard-fabric2

For these fabrics we started out with hand drawings with either ink or sharpie. The stripes and grid my husband drew are not yet repeat patterns in the hand drawings, but rather one “tile” of the pattern without all the junctions of the later repeat being all the way accurate. With admirable diligence and maybe yet a little magic, my husband then turned them into a repeat at the computer. Stripes and a grid: looks easy to turn into a repeat, but with the natural inaccuracies of hand drawn lines it did end up being quite a job, especially when new to this field.

original-and-fabric-stipes

The “stars” or “flowers” – sort of hard to say what they actually are – I made to be a repeat pattern from the get go with a folding technique I will show you how to do in one of my next post. I first have to follow up on my promise to write about my favorite herb and diy body care books. For now here are two links to great tutorials using the a cutting method: design sponge and gorgeous shiny things. Made me smile to see that Danika of gorgeous shiny things actually got the instructions from a book I have named in a previous post of mine about our first patterns:  A Field Guide to Fabric Design by Kimberly Kight. I still think it is an absolutely great book if you are interested in starting with repeat patterns or even to just learn about them.

original-and-fabric-grid

It is really interesting that even though the hand drawn pattern works as a repeat per se on the original piece of paper, but once you scan it in and fill a bigger area with the pattern you start seeing where things don’t end up being a harmonious pattern because certain parts stand out too much, or gaps end up being too big. So that is where it comes in handy again to use illustrator to fill those holes or rearrange some things to make the pattern look good overall.

original-and-fabric-stars

To then sew the pillow cases I inserted invisible zippers, something I highly recommend, be that for pillows as here or for sewing garments. Those invisible zippers just look so elegant and they can be sewn in even without a special invisible zipper foot, simply by using the regular zipper foot. Here are two tutorials I really like: one by Colette using the special foot, and the other by sew ‘n’ sushi with the regular zipper foot. The latter is in German, but it has many pictures, so maybe worth while to look into it even if German is not necessarily your language…

Thanks for looking in on my blog: I really enjoy sharing my excitement about beautiful things, things so make and create, be that with fabrics, foods or skin care. And with each one of you visiting I get to experience a moment of that joy of sharing.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Exciting: pillow covers made from our own fabric

Leave a Reply

